Train to Serve, Train to Protect, and Train to Survive
General Order 12.01(B)
Annual Training (Abbreviated)
The purpose of this General Order is to prescribe the policies and procedures for the training employees with the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office are required to obtain each year.
Statement of Policy
Employees of the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office will be required to attend training that will benefit their job performance and enhance their ability to advance within the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office.
It shall be the policy of the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office that all sworn, certified officers with the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office received at least 20 hours of training annually on required topics as directed by the Sheriff of Lumpkin County or his designees. The number of required training hours may be changed as directed by the Sheriff of Lumpkin County.
It shall also be the policy of the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office to remove from law enforcement duties any sworn officer who fails to meet the minimum annual training requirements as provided for under Georgia Statute.
Maintaining a current level of training is very important in the law enforcement community since legal decisions are always changing the accepted norms of law enforcement actions. With this in mind, the certified officers employed with the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office are expected to participate in obtaining the annual training required to:
- Maintain the level of training hours as provided for in Georgia Statute 35-8-21
- Maintain the level of professionalism expected of the employees of the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office
- Georgia POST Council - The “Georgia Peace Officers Standards and Training Council"
- In-Service Training - Training, in addition to orientation training and basic law enforcement skills training, which may include periodic retraining or refresher training, specialized training, career development, promotional training, advanced training, and/or roll-call training
- OCGA - The “Official Code of Georgia Annotated”
All Georgia POST certified Peace Officers employed with the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office must receive a minimum of 20 hours of In-Service training annually that is acceptable to the Georgia POST Council in order to maintain their peace officer certification with the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office.
Employees who successfully complete the Georgia Basic Mandate training course after April 1st of the calendar year are exempt from the 20 hours In-Service training requirement for the year the course was completed, but are still required to attend all remaining agency in-service training
Applicants who are hired, and are already certified Peace Officers, are responsible for ensuring POST requirements have been met for required training. If a deficiency of requirements is discovered, the applicant is responsible for obtaining a waiver with Georgia POST In addition, the newly hired individual will complete the following:
- Duty Weapon Training
- Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office Policy on the Use of Force Training
Non-Certified Officers Assigned to the Lumpkin County Jail
Officers who are not Georgia POST certified Peace Officers and who are assigned to the Lumpkin County Jail are required to do all of the following:
- Attend the Georgia Basic Jail Officers training course within six months of employment with the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office
- Attend training on the use of the restraint chair
- Attend applicable agency in-service training
Civilian employees of the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office will be required to attend training that will benefit their job performance and enhance their ability to advance within the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office.
- Note 1: In-service Training; Mandatory Attendance is required for all Uniformed and Investigative Personnel. (Exception; Detention Officers - Firearms)
- Note 2: Critical Tasks, Ethics and Professionalism and CPR and AED Refresher Training; Mandatory Attendance is required for all Civilian Personnel.
Officer Recertification Information
Effective January 1, 2012, peace officers graduating from the courses of Basic Law Enforcement, Basic Corrections, Basic Probation/Parole, GBI Basic Special Agent, Basic Juvenile Corrections Officer, or Basic Municipal Probation are issued a certification that will expire in four years from the date of issuance of that certification. In order to meet the recertification requirements in four years, officers:
- Must complete required annual training each year (20 Hours including Firearms Requalification and Use of Deadly Force)
- Note: These officers graduating after January 1, 2012 must complete the required annual training even if they are not actively employed each calendar year
- Must complete required Georgia POST Council Block of Training (1 class) during the four years (will be available online at GPSTC in the near future and will be taught at various locations throughout the state each year)
- Must complete two other classes during the four years (choose any two of the following three courses):
- Domestic Violence (available online at GPSTC)
- Elder Abuse (available online at GPSTC)
- Eyewitness ID (available online at GPSTC)
- Must complete a new POST application in the POST Data Gateway system to “recertify”
- Can submit your recertification application up to 90 days before your certification expires.
- Must have a current Physician’s Affidavit (form will be provided in the application and must be within 180 days of application for recertification)
- Must have current Fingerprint Results (either law enforcement agency LIVESCAN or Georgia Applicant Processing Service (GAPS) and must be within 180 days of application for recertification).
- Must have current Driver’s History (certified copy from Georgia Department of Driver Services or Driver’s History from employing law enforcement agency and must be within 180 days of application for recertification)
- Must pay $30 recertification fee
Failure to complete these requirements will result in the expiration of the basic certification that was issued.
There are no published events in current month.
Additional Notes Regarding Training
- All Mandated Officers are required to complete a minimum of 1 hour of Deescalation Training and 2 hours of Community Oriented Policing annually. Failure to attend this In-service Training will require the officer to complete the online equivalent training.
- Taser Certification Training will be published on a separate Training Notice.
- All officers in the grade of Corporal and above will coordinate with their command to schedule and attend Supervisor levels 1 through 3.
- All officers who have completed Supervisor levels 1 through 3 will coordinate with their command to schedule and attend Management levels 1 through 3.
- All officers will submit to their respective commands their individual career goals. Each command will schedule/coordinate for off-site training so as to achieve the officers’ individual goals.
- Special Response Team (SRT) Training will be scheduled/Published on a separate Training Notice.
- Honor Guard Team Training will be scheduled/Published on a separate Training Notice
- Each Instructor will coordinate directly with another instructor for assistance as needed.